Road trip

For Family Day long weekend we decided to take a road trip to Ottawa and visit some old friends. Of course I took the opportunity to knit a baby sweater  in the car for the 5 hour drive. image

My first thought was oooh new yarn stores to visit!  So I looked up online and found there were 3 stores in the area.  My friend has just taken up crocheting so I knew she would love to go shopping for yarn as well.  I had run out of the yarn I was using for the sweater, and I was starting to sweat thinking that I wouldn’t have anything to knit all weekend!

We ventured to a local yarn shop called Wabi-Sabi.

IMG_2551

image

The boys quickly found a seat to play on their phones to pass the time.

image

The shop had some cute details that I loved.  Like this mailbox used to house notions,

IMG_2543

and tool box to hold knitting needles and crochet hooks.IMG_2547

I bought a skien from Punta Yarns Fuego.  I was able to use the swift in the store to hand wind my yarn so that I could start knitting that night at my friends place.IMG_2549

I decided to make a simple seed stitch cowl, I worked on it that night after dinner and finished the next morning.  It turned out to be one of my favourite scarves.IMG_2597

I think shopping for yarn when in another town is so great, now when I wear this cowl I will think of my friends and the great weekend we had.  I think it might be a new travel tradition!

 

Do you visit yarn shops when you are out of town?

 

-Knittynuhn

11 thoughts on “Road trip

Leave a Reply

